Committees and Chairs

Application Review Committee

Mike Longman, RPSGT, RRT, Chair

The Application Review Committee carefully evaluates exam applications to ensure they are free of errors and contain all necessary information, including documentation of eligibility criteria. In addition, committee members carefully review specific portions of the applications, including making sure candidates have agreed to abide by the BRPT Standards of Conduct.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Su Jeong Linstrom, RPSGT, RST

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee is the BRPT’s newest committee that’s working to foster a welcoming, inclusive community that values and respects diverse backgrounds, opinions, and experiences. Creating the DEI Committee was important to the BRPT as we represent the sleep technologist community we serve and the patient population we treat.

Education Committee

Laura Linley, CRT, RPSGT, FAAST, Chair

The Education Committee is committed to encouraging formal education programs for sleep technologists. In doing so, the committee oversees the Sleep Technology Approved Resource (STAR) Program. The Education committee is responsible for reviewing all new STAR program applications and, if accepted, approving the curriculum for those programs.

Examination Development Committee

Kenan Hoelke, BS, RPSGT, CCSH, Chair

The Examination Development Committee is comprised of subject matter experts who work year-round to maintain, update, and validate the BRPT exams in accordance with best practices in the credentialing industry.  The committee meets both in person and virtually a couple of times a year to address a number of tasks, depending on where we are in the lifecycle of an exam.

International Committee

Angelica Benitez Yusti, RPSGT, RST, Chair

The International Committee was established to promote global sleep certification and generate awareness of sleep education programs among Spanish-speaking communities. Members of the committee are tasked with developing and implementing initiatives that further sleep education and certification in different languages.

Professional Review Committee

Deborah Kovacs, Chair

The Professional Review Committee (PRC) ensures credential holders are in accordance with the CPSGT, RPSGT and CCSH standards of professional conduct which govern their professional activities. A violation of these standards may be grounds for administrative action and possible revocation of a credential. The mission of the PRC is to ensure that all technologists are held to the highest standards that would be expected from anyone working in or receiving healthcare services.

Public Affairs & Marketing Committee

Marc Johnson, BA, RPSGT, Chair

The Public Affairs and Marketing Committee devises strategies and tactics to market the BRPT exams and offerings to current and prospective exam candidates and works to reach new audiences in related allied health fields while generating interest from the next generation of sleep technologists. The committee also identifies industry-related conferences for attendance, speaking or exhibiting opportunities and maintains the BRPT’s booth and suite of materials.

Scholarship Committee

Michelle DiMaria, BS, RRT, RPSGT

The Scholarship Committee oversees the four scholarship opportunities the BRPT offers each year. This includes issuing calls for applications and reviewing all applications through a carefully crafted rubric to determine the best qualified applicants.

Volunteer Committee

Marc C. Johnson, BA, RPSGT, Chair

The Volunteer Committee is the committee that reviews all volunteer applicants and places them on the appropriate committees or projects. The BRPT has a dedicated email ([email protected])  for those interested in inquiring about the current volunteer opportunities and what may be required of them.

For information about volunteer opportunities with BRPT please contact us at [email protected] and request a volunteer interest form.

BRPT Announces Its 2024 CCSH Educational Grant Winners CALL FOR APPLICATIONS For the BRPT’s A-STEP/STAR Designated Educational Program 2024 CCSH Pathway 3 Education Grant: CALL FOR APPLICATIONS