BRPT Announces Fifth Andrea Patterson Scholarship Winner

Polysomnography Student at Collin College in Texas Receives $2,500


McLean, VA – February 12, 2015 – The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) today announced that Uzma Rashid is the winner of the fifth Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship. Rashid is a student enrolled in the Polysomnographic Technology program at Collin College in McKinney, Texas.

“It’s a privilege to recognize Uzma with this scholarship,” said BRPT President Theresa Krupski, RPSGT, RRT. “Sleep apnea claimed the lives of two of her dearest family members. As a result, she has a very deep and personal connection to the field, and an unwavering work ethic and desire to help others suffering from sleep disorders.”

Said Uzma Rashid, “It’s a tremendous honor to receive this Scholarship and to be acknowledged by such a prestigious organization. This scholarship has not only lightened my financial burden, which allows me to focus more on my studies, but is also an unforgettable experience that has further inspired me to advance my personal and academic pursuits with an even deeper passion for helping others.”

Prior to enrolling in the PSG program at Collin College, Rashid was a substitute teacher where she enjoyed creating a positive learning environment for her students.

Rashid is expected to graduate in May 2016 after which she plans to take the RPSGT examination. She is a member of the Sleep Tech Club – a student organization that’s part of the PSG program at Collin College – where she is actively involved in fundraising and community service efforts.

Added Rashid, “I’m certain a career in polysomnography will not only be riveting but also rewarding. It will be so gratifying to help suffering people overcome their sleep disorders, and therefore improving the quality of their lives.”

The Andrea Patterson Memorial Scholarship Program, named in honor of an early and highly regarded leader in the field of sleep technology, awards a $2,500 tuition grant each year to a

promising student of polysomnography. Scholarship applicants must be enrolled in or accepted by a CAAHEP-accredited program in PSG or a CoARC-accredited program with a PSG add-on.

About Andrea Patterson

Andrea Patterson, RPSGT, R. EEG T., managed the Hennepin County Sleep Program in Minneapolis, Minnesota for almost 30 years and was a leader in early efforts to develop a standardized competency-based test for sleep technologists. Those efforts were instrumental in the development of the RPSGT credentialing program. She published extensively in scientific journals and served on the BRPT Exam Development Committee for over 20 years, until her death in 2007.

The BRPT is an independent, non-profit certification board that cultivates the highest professional and ethical standards for polysomnographic technologists. For more information, visit


Effective today, March 17, 2020 Effective today, March 16, 2020 COVID-19/Pearson VUE update